The Virginia G. Piper
Center for Creative Writing

Home / Events / Queer Poetry Salon

Queer Poetry Salon with Raquel Gutiérrez, tanner menard

Date(s): Saturday, October 9, 2021, 1:00 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. Phoenix MST
Collaboration, Community Event, Performance, Reading, Salon
Genre and Form(s): Human Rights, LGBTQIA, Poetry
Cost: Free

About this Event

Kick off the 2021 Queer Poetry Salon Season with workshops and readings from two of Arizona's most renown queer poets.

The Equality Arizona Foundation and the Virginia G. Piper Center for Creative Writing at Arizona State University are partnering for quarterly readings with a diverse, world-class cast of queer poets. We aim to strengthen & grow queer culture in Arizona by bringing the world's great LGBTQIA2s+ poets to our communities.

This year the Queer Poetry Salon will offer free creative writing workshops presented by our featured poets! RSVP for your spot to attend a workshop in the ticketing link. Please note: while this event is free and open to the public, you must register through Eventbrite to receive the Zoom link.


1-2:30 PM online writing workshop led by the Queer Poetry Salon's featured poet, Raquel Gutierrez.

3-4:30 PM online writing workshop led by local poet Jada Renee

6-6:30 PM online open mic featuring 4 workshop participants

6:30-7:30 PM featured readings from Jada Renee and Raquel Gutierrez 

About the Author

Raquel Gutierrez is an arts critic/writer, poet and educator. Born and raised in Los Angeles Gutierrez credits the DIY queer and feminist post-punk 'zine culture of the 1990s plus County and Getty paid arts internships with introducing her/them to the various vibrant art & music scenes and communities throughout Southern California. Gutierrez is a 2021 recipient of the Rabkin Prize in Arts Journalism, as well as a 2017 recipient of the Creative Capital | Andy Warhol Foundation Arts Writers Grant.

tanner menard is a poet & composer, a Louisiana Creole & a member of the Atakapa Ishak Nation. They have published ten albums of ambient music, a chapbook, were thrice nominated for a Pushcart Prize & are published in magazines such as Entropy & Beestung. The Wire Magazine called their sound poetry collaboration with Andrew Weathers an influential modern composition. They are an MFA Candidate at Northern Arizona University, have served as a member of their tribal council, as poetry editor of Thin Air Magazine & are a Kundalini Yoga Teacher.