The Desert Nights, Rising Stars
Writers Conference

Picture of large moon rising over purple desert with pink sky

Conference Sponsors

It takes a village

Putting together a creative writing conference is a monumental endeavor, one we couldn't possibly accomplish without support. We're deeply grateful to all of the businesses, organizations, and individuals who donate to the conference for their graciousness, generosity, and commitment to the literary arts. 

To meet our sponsors, keep reading. 

You can also meet past sponsors, view the schedule, or learn more about the conference

Interested in becoming a sponsor? Beyond recognition, sponsors receive special registration rates, exhibitor space, advertising, and more. Your gift allows us to continue improving the lives of individual writers and giving back to the larger community. Learn more about becoming a sponsor today! 

Meet our 2020 Desert Nights Sponsors

Text logo for the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at Arizona State University

English. History. Creative Writing. Philosophy. Religion. Languages. Film and Media Studies. When you study humanities, you embark on a journey to understand the human experience and find answers to thought-provoking questions with no definitive answers – like what’s the meaning of life? How do we determine what’s right or wrong? Why do we believe things are true?


Picture of a jackalope

Tolsun Books, LLC is a small press based out of Tolleson, Arizona and Las Vegas, Nevada. Tolsun Books believes in the cosmic power of strong relationships with authors, artists, partners, and the community. They make daring, energetic books that use separate parts to construct a whole: poetry, short stories, comics poetry, hybrids, photo stories, flash memoir. At Tolsun, the importance of aesthetic and design is paramount: A Tolsun Book will look beautiful on a bookshelf, coffee table, or nightstand. Go ahead, judge our books by their covers!


Logo for University of Arizona Poetry Center

The University of Arizona Poetry Center’s mission is to advance a diverse and robust literary culture that serves a local-to-global spectrum of writers, readers, and new audiences for poetry and the literary arts. The Poetry Center fulfills its mission by maintaining one of the most extensive and accessible collections of contemporary poetry in the nation; hosting 6 to 8 exhibitions per year to showcase its unique holdings and celebrate new work; hosting a Reading and Lecture Series that brings nationally recognized writers to Tucson; and more.

Logo for Superstition Review

Superstition Review is the online literary magazine produced by creative writing and web design students at Arizona State University.


Tahoma Literary Review is an independent literary journal. We publish three issues of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry a year. We pay contributors and support staff, with feedback services available to prose submitters. Issues are available in hard copy and electronically.


Logo for Barrett, the Honors College at Arizona State University

Established in 1988 , Barrett, the Honors College at Arizona State University is a selective four-year residential college offering special honors courses, study abroad, research opportunities, and merit scholarships to academically outstanding undergraduates at all four ASU campuses. In 2015, The New York Times called Barrett “the gold standard” among honors colleges in the nation.


Poisoned Pen logo

The Poisoned Pen Bookstore, founded in 1989 by Barbara G. Peters, is an independent bookstore specializing in fiction.


Logo for Romance Writers of America Phoenix

Romance Writers of America is a national non-profit genre writers association that provides networking and support to individuals seriously pursuing a career in romance fiction. 


Logo for Sisters in Crime Desert Sleuths

An Organization for Writers, Readers, and Fans of Crime Fiction and Mystery

Our Chapter is a proud member of Sisters in Crime, an international organization that promotes the ongoing advancement, recognition and professional development of women crime writers to achieve equality in the industry, raising professionalism, serving as the voice for excellence and achieving diversity in crime writing. 


Photograph of Elizabeth Martina Bishop

Elizabeth Martina Bishop writes prose poems, prose, essays and short stories and is currently undergoing the acquisition of a second doctorate in women and spirituality at CIIS/San Francisco.

Logo for University of Arizona Press

The University of Arizona Press is the premier publisher of academic, regional, and literary works in the state of Arizona. We disseminate ideas and knowledge of lasting value that enrich understanding, inspire curiosity, and enlighten readers. We advance the University of Arizona’s mission by connecting scholarship and creative expression to readers worldwide.


Logo for Arizona Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies

The Arizona Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies (ACMRS) was established in 1981 by the Arizona Board of Regents as a state-wide, tri-university research unit that bridges the intellectual communities at Arizona State University, Northern Arizona University, and the University of Arizona. Located centrally on the campus of Arizona State University, ACMRS is charged with coordinating and stimulating interdisciplinary research about medieval and early modern literature and culture.


Logo for Northern Arizona University Creative Writing Program

Northern Arizona University's MFA in Creative Writing offers workshop courses in poetry, nonfiction, and fiction with award winning faculty, Sherwin Bitsui, Ann Cummins, Chelsey Johnson, Lawrence Lenhart, and KT Thompson. Our new Environmental Narrative Certificate prepares students to write effectively about environmental concerns, crises, and solutions.