The Desert Nights, Rising Stars
Writers Conference

Photograph of Sara Fujimura

Sara Fujimura

Desert Nights, Rising Stars Presenter 2020

About Sara Fujimura

Sara Fujimura writes for teens and the young at heart. She is the American half of her Japanese-American family and spends about a month each summer in rural Japan with her children. So it’s no surprise she’s written about Japanese culture and raising bicultural kids for such magazines as LEARNING THROUGH HISTORY and MOTHERING, as well as, writing travel-related articles for the book TO JAPAN WITH LOVE. Her award-winning YA contemporary novel TANABATA WISH is set in Nagoya, Japan. Her second book BREATHE is YA historical fiction set in 1918 Philadelphia against the Spanish Flu pandemic. EVERY REASON WE SHOULDN’T, also YA contemporary, launches March 2020 with Tor Teen is for fans of THE CUTTING EDGE and YURI ON ICE. Sara is a creative writing teacher, a literacy advocate, and is excited to support the next generation of authors. www.sarafujimura.com

Find Conference Sessions with Sara Fujimura

From Bed-Time Stories to Flashlights Under the Covers: Writing and Publishing in the Kid-Lit Market
Michael Hale, Sara Fujimura, Sharon Skinner

Friday, February 21, 2020, 1:45 p.m. - 2:45 p.m.
Location: Tooker, Old Main
Type: Panel
Genre: Children's Books, Marketing, Middle Grade, Publishing, Submitting, Young Adult Literature

Three successful KidLit professionals share their many years of experience in children's publishing, from the start of a story, through the ups and downs of revision and submission, and ultimately to publishng and marketing.